Lambs of Men (Paperback)

By Charles Dodd White

Casperian Books, 9781934081273, 159pp.

Publication Date: November 1, 2010

List Price: 13.50*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Returning from the horrors of the First World War to recruit volunteers in his remote Appalachian home, Marine Sergeant Hiram Tobit finds the country changed. His mother has committed suicide, dredging up old resentments between Hiram and his father, Sloane. When a gruesome act of violence stuns the insular mountain community, father and son must journey together to see justice carried out while coming to terms with a deeply troubled family history.


Praise For Lambs of Men

"Charles Dodd White's Lambs of Men is a beautifully wrought, rigorous work, its language forged in the fiery mind of a true artist. This is literature of admirable pureness and integrity." --Robin Lippincott, author of In the Meantime



"Charles Dodd White has written this rich novel of the mountains as though he's been saving every word of it for a lifetime. A book full of beauty and blood and bone, a story that carries the reader through time, through lives, through dirt and fire. This book strikes the heart so deeply that readers will be called back to it again and again. He has written this family and their circumstances with such tender care...A rare book where every sentence delights and startles. It's a small gem that commands the reader's full attention and entire heart." --Crystal Wilkinson, author of Blackberries, Blackberries and Water Street



"Written in the tradition of Charles Frazier and Ron Rash, Lambs of Men is that most rare of books: a violently beautiful story that is, at heart, a work of prose poetry." --Mark Powell, author of Prodigals and Blood Kin