Skip to main content

Glass Grapes

And Other Stories (American Reader #10)

Martha Ronk


List Price: 14.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Glass Grapes and Other Stories is the first full-length collection of short stories by distinguished poet and fiction writer Martha Ronk. Ronk's work has garnered critical accolades and numerous awards, including, most recently, a 2005 PEN USA Award in poetry, a 2007 NEA Fellowship, and a 2007 National Poetry Series Award. Glass Grapes is a collection of short, experimental stories, usually dominated by an object imbued with fetishistic qualities by an obsessive, self-involved narrator. The language of these stories is repetitive, provocative, imagistic, occasionally comic, and unnerving. Ronk's fiction moves with the same grace, beauty, and attention to language as her most accomplished poetry.

BOA Editions, 9781934414132, 215pp.

Publication Date: September 1, 2008

About the Author

Martha Ronk is author of more than ten books and chapbooks. Her poetry collection, Vertigo (Coffee House Press, 2007), won the National Poetry Series Competition. In a Landscape of Having to Repeat (Omnidawn Press) won the PEN USA award for best poetry book, 2005. She is the Irma and Jay Price Professor of English at Occidental College.