The Star Wizard's Legacy (Paperback)

Six Poetic Sequences (Terra Incognita #11)

By Vasko Popa, Morton Marcus (Translator)

White Pine Press (NY), 9781935210115, 101pp.

Publication Date: April 1, 2010

List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


"As Popa penetrates deeper into his life, it begins to look like a Universe passing through a Universe. It is one of the most exciting things in modern poetry, to watch this journey being made."--Ted Hughes

Building on surrealist fables and traditional folktales, personal anecdotes and the tribal myths of his Serbian homeland, Vasko Popa created one of the most original poetries of the twentieth century.

About the Author

Vasko Popa (1922-91) was born in Vrsac in the Serbian Banat. He was elected to the Serbian Academy in 1972 and the Academie Mallarme in Paris in 1977. He lived in Belgrade where he worked as an editor for the publishers Nolit. Morton Marcus has published ten volumes of poetry and one novel, including The Santa Cruz Mountain Poems, Pages From A Scrapbook of Immigrants, When People Could Fly, Moments Without Names: New & Selected Prose Poems, Shouting Down The Silence: Verse Poems 1988-2001 and Pursuing The Dream Bone. His latest book is Striking Through The Masks: A Literary Memoir.