Monument Road (Paperback)

By Charlie Quimby

Torrey House Press, 9781937226251, 365pp.

Publication Date: November 12, 2013

List Price: 16.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

November 2013 Indie Next List

“A taciturn, ornery man grieving the loss of his wife plans to release her ashes off a spectacular cliff which she loved, and fling himself off after her. Various interruptions ensue, however, and while driving he revisits decisions, beliefs, and relationships, all with some regrets and some surprises. This novel is remarkable for the layers of meaning inherent in the stories that evolve. Fear, risk, religion, connection, and the landscape all resonate in ways both beautiful and dangerous. The debut of an author with a deft touch and the ability to create a story that is rich and lasting.”
— Sheryl Cotleur, Copperfield's Books, Sebastopol, CA
View the List

Description

AN INDIE NEXT LIST SELECTION
A PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BIG INDIE BOOK OF FALL 2013

"Part modern western, part mystery, this first novel will appeal to fans of Louise Erdrich and Kent Haruf. Quimby's prose reads so true, it breaks the heart."
--BOOKLIST, starred review

Leonard Self has spent a year unwinding his ranch, paying down debts, and fending off the darkening. Just one thing left: taking his wife's ashes to her favorite overlook, where he plans to step off the cliff with her into a stark and beautiful landscape. But Leonard finds he has company on a route that intertwines old wounds and new insights that make him question whether his life is over after all.

CHARLIE QUIMBY's writing life has always crossed divides. A playwright turned critic. A protest songwriter who worked for a defense contractor. A blogger about taxpaying and homelessness. He wrote award-winning words for others in Harvard Business Review, Financial World magazine and the NFL Hall of Fame. Naturally, he splits time between Minneapolis and his native western Colorado. ​


About the Author

CHARLIE QUIMBY's writing life has always crossed divides. A playwright turned critic. A protest songwriter who worked for a defense contractor. A blogger about taxpaying and homelessness. He wrote award-winning words for others in Harvard Business Review, Financial World magazine and the NFL Hall of Fame. Naturally, he splits time between Minneapolis and his native western Colorado.


Book Videos