Music to Die by (Paperback)

By Felicity Savage

Knights Hill Publishing, 9781937396039, 280pp.

Publication Date: June 7, 2012



A singer in Tokyo's scuzzy indie rock scene, Shanti Hazard buried her past long ago. But when childhood friend Ned turns up in the audience at one of her band's shows, he threatens to reveal the ugly secret he and Shanti share. Determined to protect her friends and bandmates, Shanti plots to outwit Ned while the band tours snowbound northern Japan, sleeping on couches. A botched cover-up leads to murder and a tightening web of deception, as the band clashes with the merciless Japanese legal system. Ultimately, to defeat her past, Shanti will have to confront it... and Ned... before someone else dies. Music to Die By plunges the reader into the gritty world of the Japanese indie rock scene, building to a shocking climax. A suspense novel in the tradition of THE BEACH and THE SECRET HISTORY, Felicity Savage's MUSIC TO DIE BY combines an authentic sense of place with compulsive storytelling.

About the Author

Felicity Savage is a major award-nominated fantasy author. MUSIC TO DIE BY is her first suspense novel. Born in South Carolina, Savage lived until the age of two in rural France, and then in the west of Ireland. At six, she moved with her family to the island of North Uist in the Outer Hebrides, where she joined the Girl Guides and appeared in productions of Robin Hood and Peter Pan at the RAF base on Benbecula. Some years later she graduated from Columbia College in New York City and then moved to Japan, where she now lives with her husband, daughter, and two cats. When not writing, she works as a Japanese translator, sings Gregorian chant, and moonlights as a serial houseplant killer. Learn more about the author at http: //