16 Pills (Paperback)

By Carley Moore

Tinderbox Editions, 9781943981106, 178pp.

Publication Date: May 1, 2018

List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Literary Nonfiction. Women's Studies. LGBTQIA Studies. 16 PILLS opens in the hospital as Moore navigates the medical gaze: becoming spectacle as she is videotaped walking down the hall, talked about as if she were an object, wondered over her body as she drifts, unmoored, before surgery. Moore's essays explore with intimacy and candor the experiences of a contemporary feminist exploring the worlds of co-parenting, the absurdities of online dating, the art of mothering in a time of protest, the complexity of prescription drugs, and reflecting on generations of men and women in her Swedish- and Cuban-American family. Moore's book is at once thoughtful and honest, and is ultimately an investigation on making spaces for ourselves and meeting the desires of our own bodies. For readers of Leslie Jamison, Roxane Gay, and Lidia Yuknavich.