Skip to main content
Cover for American Fever

American Fever

A Novel

Dur e. Aziz Amna

Hardcover

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For fans of Valeria Luiselli and Mohsin Hamid comes a fresh new perspective on coming-of-age as a Pakistani Muslim in rural America.

This is a fearless, exacting, essential work, and marks the debut of a thrilling new global voice.”—Peter Ho Davies, author of The Welsh Girl

On a year-long exchange program in rural Oregon, sixteen-year-old Hira must swap Kashmiri chai for volleyball practice and understand why everyone around her seems to dislike Obama.  A skeptically witty narrator, Hira finds herself stuck between worlds. The experience is memorable for reasons both good and bad; a first kiss, new friends, racism, Islamophobia, homesickness. Along the way Hira starts to feel increasingly unwell until she begins coughing up blood, and receives a diagnosis of tuberculosis, pushing her into quarantine and turning her newly established home away from home upside down. 

American Fever is a compelling and laugh-out-loud funny novel about adolescence, family, otherness, religion, the push-and-pull of home. It marks the entrance on the international literary scene of the brilliant fresh voice of Dur e Aziz Amna. 


Praise For American Fever: A Novel

"AMERICAN FEVER is the unforgettable story of a teenage girl in a year of transformation. Dur e Aziz Amna navigates the choppy waters of adolescence with blistering insight and humor, and exquisitely captures the way we can long for home while yearning to escape it. Rarely does a book sharpen how you see the world around you, but American Fever does just that. It dazzled me on every page."--Julie Buntin, author of Marlena 
 

"The immigrant experience is frequently one of defamiliarization, but in American Fever, Dur e Aziz Amna, has hit on a brilliant means of defamiliarizing the immigrant novel: exploring the liminal experience - not quite settler, not quite expatriate - of the foreign exchange student. Hira is a wonderfully complex creation, perfectly poised at the adolescent juncture of wide-eyed newcomer and precocious cultural critic. Her razor sharp observations of the US and Pakistan – their faiths, politics, culture - have the bold truth-telling power of both innocence and experience. This is a fearless, exacting, essential work, and marks the debut of a thrilling new global voice."--Peter Ho Davies, author of bestselling novel, The Welsh Girl

Arcade, 9781950994496, 288pp.

Publication Date: August 16, 2022



About the Author

Dur e Aziz Amna grew up in Rawalpindi, Pakistan, and now lives in Michigan, USA. Her work has appeared in the New York Times, Financial Times, and Longreads, among others. She won the 2019 Financial Times / Bodley Head Essay Prize, with an e-book publication by Penguin, and was longlisted for the Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award 2020. She graduated from Yale College and the Helen Zell Writers' Program at the University of Michigan. Her debut novel, AMERICAN FEVER, is forthcoming from Sceptre and Arcade Books (August 2022).