Skip to main content
Cover for When Heroes Flew

When Heroes Flew

H. W. Buzz Bernard

Paperback

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (7/13/2021)
Hardcover (4/28/2020)

Description

Two unlikely partners. One deadly mission.

Inspired by the true story of one of the most harrowing air raids in World War II.

High stakes and extraordinary bravery collide in this historical thriller by Buzz Bernard, the award-winning author of the When Heroes Flew series.

THE WORLD AT WAR...

A series of experimental raids on rail sheds in Italy. Rooftop-level training flights in England. Accustomed to high-altitude flights on his B-24 bomber, pilot Al Lycoming can't make sense of all the low-level training-until he's dispatched to Benghazi on a secret assignment...

ON A DANGEROUS MISSION...

Al and his crew soon learn about their part in a daring low-level attack on Hitler's extensive oil refineries. But then Al's co-pilot falls ill at the last minute, and the operation is threatened when no other man is available to take his place.

WHEN NOTHING GOES ACCORDING TO PLAN...

Vivian Wright is no man, and she's not cleared to take the job-but as a pilot in the Women's Airforce Service, she's got both the skills and courage needed to rise to the challenge, and Al enlists her help despite the risk of a court martial.

VICTORY COMES AT A PRICE.

Their enemies are ruthless, the elements are raging against them, but Al and Vivian are determined to fly through the dark skies to victory...unless the war has other plans for them.

This blockbuster novel brings history to life in vivid detail... A must-read for fans of P.T. Deutermann, Tom Young, and Lee Jackson.


Severn River Publishing, 9781951249977, 288pp.

Publication Date: April 28, 2020