The Man in Milan (Hardcover)

By Vito Racanelli

Polis Books, 9781951709112, 336pp.

Publication Date: October 6, 2020

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For fans of Daniel Silva and David Baldacci comes a gripping thriller based on real world events that will have you riveted until the final page is turned. When NYPD detectives Paul Rossi and Hamilton P. Turner begin investigating the Sutton Place murder of an Italian air force pilot, the last thing they expect is that they will and find themselves sucked into the potential cover-up of the Ustica massacre, the most horrific aviation crime in Italian history, in which all 81 souls on board perished, where Italian President Francesco Cossiga blamed a missile deployed by the French Navy for the disaster. But as they begin investigating, Rossi, recovering from a broken marriage, and Turner, an African-American opera buff, poet, and former lawyer with ambitions to be mayor, come up against NYPD bureaucratic obstacles and stonewalling by the Italian Consulate in NYC. Lieutenant Laura Muro, the policewoman sister of the victim, comes to New York to aid the investigation, but soon the trio find themselves in the crosshairs of the Gladio, Italy's powerful, shadowy political cabal whose reach extends to the highest reaches of New York political and ruling class. From New York to Italy, Rossi, Turner, and Muro must uncover the shocking truth about one of the most notorious disasters in airline history, and how this infamous act ties to the present-day murder. Riveting, erudite, and surprising at every turn, THE MAN IN MILAN announces a major new voice in international thriller fiction.


About the Author

Vito Racanelli's short stories have appeared in numerous publications, including the Akashic Books' "Mondays Are Murder" series; the Boiler; the Literarian; Newtown Literary; KGB Bar Lit Magazine; Brilliantflashfiction.com; Dark Corners; a "great weather for Media" short story collection, and River and South Review. His works have also been performed at Liar's League NYC and broadcast by BBC4, as part of its Sunday afternoon story series. His "A Trip to the Trees Place, was nominated for a Pushcart Prize. He was a 2013 and 2018 Fish Publishing Flash Fiction Story Prize finalist, placed a "notable" story in the Gemini 2016 Short Story contest, and was participant in the 2013 Pen World Festival. Vito's non-fiction has appeared in The Wall Street Journal, The Newark Star Ledger, and San Francisco Chronicle, and the Far Eastern Economic Review, among other newspapers. He is a Barron's Staff Writer, and is regularly interviewed by U.S. and European TV and radio programs such as WABC, BBC, and CNBC. He was the Associated Press-Dow Jones News Bureau Chief, in Italy 2/94-10/9, and led the bureau's wide range of coverage of Italian financial markets and news.