Skip to main content

Sins of Commission

A Martha Beale Novel

Cordelia Frances Biddle


List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, 9781978039797, 238pp.

Publication Date: November 27, 2017

About the Author

Cordelia Frances Biddle is the author of five historical novels featuring Philadelphia heiress turned amateur sleuth, Martha Beale: Sins of Commission, The Actress, Without Fear, Deception's Daughter, and The Conjurer. The books are set during the Victorian era in Philadelphia and are noted for their period detail. The fiercely independent Martha Beale makes a strong and sympathetic heroine. Biddle's other fiction works are Beneath the Wind, and the Crossword Mystery series penned with her husband under the nom de plume, Nero Blanc. She's also the author of the nonfiction Saint Katharine: The Life of Katharine Drexel that scholar Donald Spoto (Reluctant Saint: The Life of Francis of Assisi) described as "Powerful and profoundly moving. Cordelia Biddle has written an immensely readable book of rich, colorful and lively scholarship and of deeply felt devotion. You will not be able to put it down." Cordelia is currently writing a biography of financier, Nicholas Biddle. Website: