Skip to main content
Cover for When She Was Good (Cyrus Haven Series #2)

When She Was Good (Cyrus Haven Series #2)

Michael Robotham


List Price: 26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (7/27/2020)
Paperback (6/29/2021)
Paperback, Chinese (10/29/2022)
Mass Market (4/26/2022)
Compact Disc (7/28/2020)


From the bestselling author of Good Girl, Bad Girl and When You Are Mine comes a gripping thriller featuring the brilliant forensic psychologist Cyrus Haven as he becomes embroiled in an explosive murder case with disturbing origins.

Criminal psychologist Cyrus Haven and Evie Cormac return in this “powerhouse of a novel” (Booklist, starred review) from internationally bestselling author Michael Robotham, a writer Stephen King calls “an absolute master...with heart and soul.”

Who is Evie, the girl with no past, running from? She was discovered hiding in a secret room in the aftermath of a terrible crime. Her ability to tell when someone is lying helped Cyrus crack an impenetrable case in Good Girl, Bad Girl. Now, the closer Cyrus gets to uncovering answers about Evie’s dark history, the more he exposes Evie to danger, giving her no choice but to run. Ultimately, both will have to decide if some secrets are better left buried and some monsters should never be named...

Praise For When She Was Good (Cyrus Haven Series #2)

“[A] gripping follow-up to Good Girl, Bad Girl. . . . Robotham delves into some very (very) dark territory, and the horror steadily mounts. . . . Readers will be putty in this supremely talented author’s capable hands. An urgent, poignant, and terrifying thriller. More please.” —Kirkus Reviews, STARRED review

“[A] powerhouse of a novel. . . . The whole enterprise is enriched by wonderfully cadenced prose that almost invites one to feel its texture. It's rare to be overawed by the writing in scenes of violence and danger, but...this one's a jewel, and readers who don't know Robotham should immediately catch up.” —Booklist, STARRED review

“Twisty. . . . fans of grim psychological suspense will be rewarded.” —Publishers Weekly

“[A] page-turner from the start. . . . When She Was Good makes a desperate plea for the forces of love and justice to prevail." New York Journal of Books

Scribner, 9781982103637, 352pp.

Publication Date: July 28, 2020

About the Author

Michael Robotham is a former investigative journalist whose bestselling psychological thrillers have been translated into twenty-five languages. He has twice won a Ned Kelly Award for Australia’s best crime novel, for Lost in 2005 and Shatter in 2008. His recent novels include When She Was Good, winner of the UK’s Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award for best thriller; The Secrets She KeepsGood Girl, Bad Girl; When You Are Mine; and Lying Beside You. After living and writing all over the world, Robotham settled his family in Sydney, Australia.