Almost Home (Paperback)

Poems

By Madisen Kuhn, Orion Carloto (Foreword by)

Gallery Books, 9781982121259, 208pp.

Publication Date: October 1, 2019

List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

From the Instagram poet and author of the exquisite Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better comes a gorgeous poetry and prose collection that explores the meaning of “home” and the profound discovery of finding it within oneself—perfect for fans of Rupi Kaur and Amanda Lovelace.

In this stunning third collection from Madisen Kuhn, Madisen eloquently analyzes some of life’s universal themes within the framework of a house. Whether it’s the garden, the bedroom, or the front porch, Madisen takes you into her own “home,” sharing some of the most intimate parts of her life so that you might also, someday, feel free to share some of yours.

Filled with beautiful hand-drawn illustrations from Melody Hansen, this boldly intimate, preternaturally wise, and emotionally candid collection encourages you to consider what home means to you—whether it’s in the lush, green-lawned suburbs or a city apartment—and, more importantly, explores how you can find it even when home feels like it’s on the far-off horizon.


About the Author

Madisen Kuhn is a writer living in Charlottesville, Virginia. She likes to explore topics of identity, belonging, sexuality, and mental illness in her work. In 2015, she self-published Eighteen Years, a collection of over 200 poems. She is currently pursuing a BFA in Studio and Digital Arts.


Praise For Almost Home: Poems

"Madisen's is a story of finding self-acceptance in the darkest of moments. Her work is refreshingly illustrative, surreal and still accessible, a wonderful mix of light and shade, honest, intimate, dramatic and ultimately moving.   

Home is a place that Madisen is constantly trying to get to but can never quite reach. And maybe, that's ok."

 

 
— Iain S. Thomas, author of international bestseller I WROTE THIS FOR YOU, EVERY WORD YOU CANNOT SAY