Dear Emmie Blue (Hardcover)

A Novel

By Lia Louis

Atria/Emily Bestler Books, 9781982135911, 320pp.

Publication Date: July 14, 2020

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (7/14/2020)
Paperback (2/2/2021)

List Price: 26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In this charming and poignant novel, teenager Emmie Blue releases a balloon with her email address and a big secret into the sky, only to fall head-over-heels for the boy who finds it; now, fourteen years later, the one thing Emmie has been counting on is gone for good, and everything she planned is up in the air.

At sixteen, Emmie Blue stood in the fields of her school and released a red balloon into the sky. Attached was her name, her email address…and a secret she desperately wanted to be free of. Weeks later, on a beach in France, Lucas Moreau discovered the balloon and immediately emailed the attached addressed, sparking an intense friendship between the two teens.

Now, fourteen years later, Emmie is hiding the fact that she’s desperately in love with Lucas. She has pinned all her hopes on him and waits patiently for him to finally admit that she’s the one for him. So dedicated to her love for Lucas, Emmie has all but neglected her life outside of this relationship—she’s given up the search for her absentee father, no longer tries to build bridges with her distant mother, and lives as a lodger to an old lady she barely knows after being laid off from her job. And when Lucas tells Emmie he has a big question to ask her, she’s convinced this is the moment he’ll reveal his feelings for her. But nothing in life ever quite goes as planned, does it?

Emmie Blue is about to learn everything she thinks she knows about life (and love) is just that: what she thinks she knows. Is there such thing as meant to be? Or is it true when they say that life is what happens when you are busy making other plans? A story filled with heart and humor, Dear Emmie Blue is perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and Evvie Drake Starts Over.


About the Author

Lia Louis lives in the United Kingdom with her partner and three young children. Before raising a family, she worked as a freelance copywriter and proofreader. She was the 2015 winner of Elle magazine’s annual writing competition and has been a contributor for Bloomsbury’s Writers and Artist’s blog for aspiring writers. She is the author of Somewhere Close to Happy and Dear Emmie Blue.


Praise For Dear Emmie Blue: A Novel

"This book is f**king perfect, buy it now."
— Julia Whelan, critically-acclaimed author of MY OXFORD YEAR

"Louis's is a bold, standout voice in the women's fiction genre."
— Gillian McAllister, author of THE GOOD SISTER

"Lia is one of those rare writers who manage to break your heart and mend it all at once."
— Stacey Halls, author of THE FAMILIARS

"An absolute treasure of a book. A love story to cherish."
— Michelle Adams, author of MY SISTER

"DEAR EMMIE BLUE is the new Eleanor Oliphant. Deftly crafted descriptions and characters who jump off the page and drag you into the story. I loved every moment of it."
— Bella Osborne, author of A WALK IN WILDFLOWER PARK

"I loved it so much. Such a perfectly crafted story that made my heart swell. So many parts gave me a severe case of goosebumps. Emmie is fabulously funny and real, and wow - that ending was perfect. People will not be able to resist Emmie Blue."
— Jessica Ryn, author of THE EXTRAORDINARY HOPE OF DAWN BRIGHTSIDE

"DEAR EMMIE BLUE has everything--it oozes charm and wit and speaks beautifully about friendship and love, and the differences between the two."
— Laura Pearson, author of I WANTED YOU TO KNOW

"Beautifully captures the heartache and frustrations of carrying our teenaged selves with us wherever we go, and yet we would never be without them. LOVED IT."
— Anstey Harris, author of GOODBYE PARIS

"This gorgeous and clever book is a heartfelt story about love and friendship, which certainly didn't end the way I expected. Fresh and funny writing, with a heroine (and heroes!) I adored."
— Holly Miller, author of THE SIGHT OF YOU

“I will happily read every word Lia Louis ever writes, from novels to shopping lists, this is a very special book by a very special writer. DEAR EMMIE BLUE is sweet, sparkling and heartwarming, the perfect book to remind you dreams can come true.”
— Lindsey Kelk, internationally bestselling author of ONE IN A MILLION

"Like 'My Best Friend's Wedding' plus an unfairly gorgeous Frenchwoman, mixtapes, and miles of inside jokes . . . Dear Emmie Blue will resonate long after readers turn the last page.”
— Booklist