Skip to main content


The Princess Spy

The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

Larry Loftis

Hardcover

List Price: 28.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (2/9/2021)

Description

“What to Read in 2021” by The Washington Post

​The international bestselling author of the “exciting, suspenseful, inspirational” (Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Code Name: Lise weaves another exceptional and thrilling hidden history of an ordinary American girl who became one of the OSS’s most daring spies in World War II before marrying into European nobility. Perfect for fans of A Woman of No Importance and Code Girls.

When Aline Griffith was born in a quiet suburban New York hamlet, no one had any idea that she would go on to live “a life of glamour and danger that Ingrid Bergman only played at in Notorious” (Time). As the US enters the Second World War, the young college graduate is desperate to aid in the war effort, but no one is interested in a bright-eyed young woman whose only career experience is modeling clothes.

Aline’s life changes when, at a dinner party, she meets a man named Frank Ryan and reveals how desperately she wants to do her part for her country. Within a few weeks, he helps her join the Office of Strategic Services—forerunner of the CIA. With a code name and expert training under her belt, she is sent to Spain to be a coder, but is soon given the additional assignment of infiltrating the upper echelons of society, mingling with high-ranking officials, diplomats, and titled Europeans, any of whom could be an enemy agent. Against this glamorous backdrop of galas and dinner parties, she recruits sub-agents and engages in deep-cover espionage to counter Nazi tactics in Madrid.

Even after marrying the Count of Romanones, one of the wealthiest men in Spain, Aline secretly continues her covert activities, being given special assignments when abroad that would benefit from her impeccable pedigree and social connections.

Filled with twists, romance, and plenty of white-knuckled adventures fit for a James Bond film, The Princess Spy brings to vivid life the dazzling adventures of a remarkable American woman who risked everything to serve her country.


Praise For The Princess Spy: The True Story of World War II Spy Aline Griffith, Countess of Romanones

PRAISE FOR THE PRINCESS SPY

What to Read in 2021 Washington Post

“A brisk narrative filled with glamour, glitz, and mysterious characters…Sumptuous…A lively history of a spirited woman.” Kirkus Reviews

“An entertaining biography [with a] fast-moving narrative...Sketches the battles between German, American, and British spies…with precision. Espionage buffs will be enthralled.” Publishers Weekly

“Loftis, a historian who’s written two previous nonfiction spy thrillers, delivers a rich, deeply researched account of Griffith’s espionage escapades.” Washington Post

PRAISE FOR CODE NAME: LISE

Goodreads Choice Awards semifinalist
Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019—Woman's Day
The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year—BookBub
Best Books of January 2019—Amazon


"This is a great book! ... A remarkable story." The TODAY Show

“Reading like a thrilling spy novel and the most exciting sort of non-fiction—well researched, well written, and fast paced enough to keep the pages turning—this will interest fans of the history of espionage, World War II history, military history, women’s history, and biography.” —Library Journal (starred review)

"A story of sheer bravery and survival that should astound even an avid reader of military history.  A splendid read about a splendid woman." Washington Times

 "How an 'ordinary' mom of three became Britain's most decorated WWII spy." New York Post

"Impossible to put down. Suffused with romance, told with a novelist’s eye for page-turning thrills and the historian’s acumen for facts, Loftis brings to colorful life a hero for our time. [This] story is epic, intensely personal, emotionally rich, and hard to forget.” —Doug Stanton, #1 New York Times bestselling author of 12 Strong and In Harm’s Way

"An exciting, suspenseful, inspirational tale. You will love this book." —Brad Thor, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Backlash

"An astonishing story of love, survival, and almost unimaginable courage.  Code Name: Lise is non-fiction that reads like a thriller and will keep readers riveted." —Tilar Mazzeo, New York Times bestselling author of Irena’s Children

 

Atria Books, 9781982143862, 384pp.

Publication Date: February 9, 2021



About the Author

Larry Loftis is the USA TODAY and bestselling author of the nonfiction spy thrillers Code Name: Lise—The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII’s Most Highly Decorated Spy and Into the Lion’s Mouth: The True Story of Dusko Popov—World War II Spy, Patriot, and the Real-Life Inspiration for James Bond, which have been published around the world in multiple languages. Prior to becoming a full-time writer, Mr. Loftis was a corporate attorney and adjunct professor of law. He can be found on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and at LarryLoftis.com.