Rocket Says Look Up! (Hardcover)

By Nathan Bryon, Dapo Adeola (Illustrator)

Random House Books for Young Readers, 9781984894427, 32pp.

Publication Date: June 25, 2019

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Meet Rocket--a plucky aspiring astronaut intent on getting her community to LOOK UP! from what they're doing and reach for the stars in this auspicious debut picture book.

A comet will be visible tonight, and Rocket wants everyone to see it with her--even her big brother, Jamal, whose attention is usually trained on his phone or video games. Rocket's enthusiasm brings neighbors and family together to witness a once-in-a-lifetime sighting. Perfect for fans of Ada Twist, Scientist and Cece Loves Science--Rocket Says Look Up! will inspire readers of all ages to dream big as it models Rocket's passion for science and infectious curiosity.

Author Nathan Bryon, an actor and screenwriter, and Dapo Adeola, a community-minded freelance illustrator, bring their fresh talents, passion, and enthusiasm to the picture book medium.


About the Author

NATHAN BRYON is a British actor and writer who has written for BAFTA Award-winning children's TV shows. He's a rising star in the world of screenwriting and has an animated series, Afro Kid, currently under option in England. He lives in London.

DAPO ADEOLA creates characters and images that challenge assumptions about gender, race, and ethnicity in a fun and upbeat way. He runs illustration and character-design workshops in and out of schools, to help spotlight the possibility of a career in illustration for inner-city children. He lives in London.


Praise For Rocket Says Look Up!

"Outstanding—a breath of fresh air, just like Rocket herself."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Ideal for space or science-inclined readers, this book includes brief information about outstanding scientist Jemison and a short list of facts about meteors and comets enclosed in an embrace of family relationships and a child’s joy in the world around her.” —School Library Journal, starred review 

“The sweet, uncomplicated story for young space lovers is peppered with interesting facts about meteors and Mae Jemison, and has bright, colorful, humorous illustrations that subtly but deliberately represent a vibrant, multiethnic, multicultural neighborhood engaging in a community event.” —Booklist