American Betiya (Hardcover)

By Anuradha D. Rajurkar

Knopf Books for Young Readers, 9781984897152, 368pp.

Publication Date: March 9, 2021

Other Editions of This Title:
Library Binding (3/9/2021)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson will identify with this story of a young artist grappling with first love, family boundaries and the complications of a cross-cultural relationship.

Rani Kelkar has never lied to her parents, until she meets Oliver. The same qualities that draw her in--his tattoos, his charisma, his passion for art--make him her mother's worst nightmare.

They begin dating in secret, but when Oliver's troubled home life unravels, he starts to ask more of Rani than she knows how to give, desperately trying to fit into her world, no matter how high the cost. Their relationship is nearly at the breaking point, when a family tragedy draws Rani to India for a summer. There, she gains perspective on what it means to be true to herself and what that means for her and Oliver.

Winner of SCBWI's Emerging Voices award, Anuradha Rajurkar takes an honest look at the ways cultures can clash in an interracial relationship. Rani's journey to hold onto her cultural identity amid the push-and-pull of first love, will resonate with anyone who's ever navigated a cross-cultural relationship.


About the Author

ANURADHA D. RAJURKAR is a teacher by day and a YA writer by night, who holds two degrees from Northwestern University. She lives in Milwaukee with her husband and two sons. American Betiya is her first novel.

Follow her on Twitter @ADRajurkar1