Four Reigns (Paperback)

By Kukrit Pramoj

Silkworm Books, 9789747100662, 663pp.

Publication Date: December 1, 1998



This English version of the Thai novel Si Phaendin tells the rich and entertaining story of one woman's life both inside and outside the royal palace in Bangkok. Spanning a period of four reigns, from King Chulalongkorn to the reign of his grandson King Ananda, this popular modern classic gives insight into the social and political issues facing Thailand from the 1890s through the turbulent years of World War II.

About the Author

M. R. Kukrit Pramoj (1911-1995) was prime minister, journalist, classical dancer, and author of more than 20 books.