Skip to main content


The Grace Year

Kim Liggett

Paperback

List Price: 37.80*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (9/16/2019)
Paperback (10/27/2020)
Hardcover (10/8/2019)
CD-Audio (11/26/2019)
Library Binding, Large Print (2/1/2020)

Fall 2019 Kids Indie Next List

“Liggett combines a dystopian society with a horrific survivor story and a dark fairy tale in The Grace Year. Young girls are believed to be magic, so they are forced into exile for their 16th year in order to release their powers. After their year away, they are expected to come back ready for a docile home life. But not all of them come home alive, and many come home changed. Liggett’s story is haunting and lyrical, an intriguing page-turner filled with love, brutality, violence, and hope.”
— Scott Lange, The Bookman, Grand Haven, MI
View the List

Description

The instant New York Times bestseller, a speculative YA thriller in the vein of The Hunger Games and The Power, now in trade paperback.

No one speaks of the grace year. It's forbidden.

In Garner County, girls are banished for their sixteenth year to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage.

But not all of them will make it home alive.

Tierney James dreams of a better life--but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that there's more to fear about the grace year than the brutal elements and the poachers in the woods.

Their greatest threat may very well be each other.

With sharp prose and gritty realism, Kim Liggett's The Grace Year examines the complex and sometimes twisted relationships between girls, the women they eventually become, and the difficult decisions they make in-between.

Yue Zhi Wen Hua, 9789865100759

Publication Date: August 31, 2020



About the Author

Kim Liggett, originally from the rural Midwest, moved to New York City to pursue a career in the arts. She's the author of Blood and Salt, Heart of Ash, The Last Harvest (Bram Stoker Award Winner), The Unfortunates, and The Grace Year. Kim spends her free time studying tarot and scouring Manhattan for rare vials of perfume and the perfect egg-white cocktail