Skip to main content
Cover for In on the Joke

In on the Joke

The Original Queens of Standup Comedy

Shawn Levy

Library Binding

List Price: 33.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Digital Audiobook (4/4/2022)
Hardcover (4/5/2022)

Description

"A sensitive and vivid study of early female stand-ups... Levy is a] painstaking, knowledgeable guide." --New York Times Book Review

A hilarious and moving account of the trailblazing women of stand-up comedy who broke down walls so they could stand before the mic--perfect for fans of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel and Hacks

Today, women are ascendant in stand-up comedy, even preeminent. They make headlines, fill arenas, spawn blockbuster movies. But before Amy Schumer slayed, Tiffany Haddish killed, and Ali Wong drew roars, the very idea of a female comedian seemed, to most of America, like a punch line. And it took a special sort of woman--indeed, a parade of them--to break and remake the mold.

In on the Joke is the story of a group of unforgettable women who knocked down the doors of stand-up comedy so other women could get a shot. It spans decades, from Moms Mabley's rise in Black vaudeville between the world wars, to the roadhouse ribaldry of Belle Barth and Rusty Warren in the 1950s and '60s, to Elaine May's co-invention of improv comedy, to Joan Rivers's and Phyllis Diller's ferocious ascent to mainstream stardom. These women refused to be defined by type and tradition, facing down indifference, puzzlement, nay-saying, and unvarnished hostility. They were discouraged by agents, managers, audiences, critics, fellow performers--even their families. And yet they persevered against the tired notion that women couldn't be funny, making space not only for themselves, but for the women who followed them.

Meticulously researched and irresistibly drawn, Shawn Levy's group portrait forms a new pantheon of comedy excellence. In on the Joke shows how women broke into the boys' club, offered new ideas of womanhood, and had some laughs along the way.

Thorndike Press Large Print, 9798885783132, 625pp.

Publication Date: October 26, 2022



About the Author

SHAWN LEVY is the bestselling author of The Castle on Sunset, Rat Pack Confidential, Paul Newman: A Life, and Dolce Vita Confidential. His writing has appeared in The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Guardian, The Hollywood Reporter, Sight & Sound, Film Comment, and American Film. He jumps and claps and sings for victory in Portland, Oregon.